Emeritus Dean

2185.1 Policy Statement

The title of Emeritus Dean recognizes the contributions made by deans who have served with distinction as chief academic officers of schools or colleges at Wright State University. It is conferred as a lifetime status.

The Board may confer the title of Emeritus Dean upon a faculty member who has served as the dean of a school or college upon retirement. Consideration for the title is based on the faculty member’s written request which must be supported by the provost. Normally the title is conferred only to a faculty member who has retired while serving as dean (not Acting, Interim, Associate, or Assistant Dean) for the past seven or more years. The Emeritus Dean title is conferred at the discretion of the Board and is not automatic, regardless of the number of years an individual may have served as a dean.